Thursday, 23 June 2011 08:17

Mexico and the US Advance to Finals for Rematch in CONCACAF Gold Cup

Written by Keph Senett
Javier "Chicharito" Hernandez Javier "Chicharito" Hernandez americanistadechiapas/Flickr

Between them, the United States and Mexico have won nine of the 10 titles since the Gold Cup began in 1991, and the results of the 2011 tournament will continue the trend. The countries face off in the finals taking place this Saturday at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena.

After handily defeating every opponent in Group A, Mexico's semifinal game against Honduras looked a lot like their quarterfinal match against Guatemala -- challenging, until De Nigris cracked open the opposing team's defense late in the game. In both matches, Javier "Chicharito" Hernandez followed up quickly with a game-deciding second goal.

The United States beat Panama 1-0 in their semifinal game with a 76-minute goal by Clint Dempsey, launching them into the final everyone expected: a rematch against Mexico for the Cup. The countries have faced each other in two Gold Cup finals, with the U.S. taking the title in 2007 and Mexico taking it back in a 5-0 win in 2009.

During this year's Cup, Mexico has outscored its five Gold Cup opponents by an aggregate score of 18-2, despite a compromised roster due to the provisional suspension of five players who tested positive for clenbuterol during the pre-Cup training camp. After further investigation, CONCACAF allowed the players' replacement, so Mexico is entering the final match with a full squad.

The final match is scheduled for Saturday, June 25 at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, California.

Add comment

Where to go? What to do? How to get there? and save?! 
All from the palm of your hand! - Just WiP iT!


Puerto Vallarta & Riviera Nayarit Restaurants

Google Ads